Counseling Department


Our Mission

The mission of the counseling department at Buena High school is to deliver a comprehensive counseling program based on the American School Counselor Association’s (ASCA) National Model for school counseling.  This comprehensive program provides all students with equitable opportunity for growth in the academic, college and career, and social/emotional domains and encourages the highest level of student achievement using developmentally appropriate curriculum and services.  In partnership with students, families, teachers, administrators, and members of the community, we promote lifelong learning and guide students in becoming responsible, culturally sensitive and productive members of society.

David Vallejo,M.A.

david.vallejo@venturausd.org

Ext. 1015

Last names: “A-CEP”

NCAA Advisor

AP Coordinator

 

 

Bertha Zaragoza, M.A.

bertha.zaragoza@venturausd.org

Ext. 1037

Last names: “CEQ-GOL”

EL Coordinator

VC Matriculation Liaison

Shannon Pelmear, M.A.

shannon.pelmear@venturausd.org 

Ext. 1009

Last names: “GOM-LiN”

Financial Aid

Career and College Night

 

Natasha Hillis, M.A.

natasha.hillis@venturausd.org

Ext. 1023

Last names: “LiO-OLH”

College Night Coordinator

 

PLAN/PSAT Coordinator

Monica Fierro, M.A.

monica.fierro@venturausd.org

Ext. 1019

Last names: “OLi-SAM”

Middle School Liaison


 

John Beattie, M.A. 

john.beattie@venturausd.org             

Ext. 1050

Last names: “SAN-Z”

Middle School Liaison 

BARK coordinator

Natalie Debbas

natalie.debbas@venturausd.org

Ext. 2054

College & Career Center

C.E.C (ROP)

SAT/ACT/ASVAB Test Administrator

Work Experience

Bridges Program


Matt Lazansky

matt.lazansky@venturausd.org

Ext.1011

StudentAssistanceProgram (SAP)

Support Groups

Health & Wellness Liaison


Geneva Vega

geneva.vega@venturausd.org 

Ext. 1021

Office Assistant, Counseling Secretary

Did you know...


-  We offer 16 AP and 11 Honors courses

-  We have an AVID program

-  We have #21 AVID trained teachers

-  We offer over 70 electives

-  We offer Mock Trial, Science League, ASB and Renaissance
   programs and many more

-  Buena Counselors conduct 3 college nights, a College Celebration day,
   and 2 NCAA presentations yearly

College Info

SAT 

ACT 

 

 

SAT 

 

ACT 


 

 

 

SAT 

 

ACT 


 

 

 

SAT 

 

ACT 


 

 

 

SAT 

 

ACT 


 

 

 

SAT 

 

ACT 


 

 

 

SAT 

 

ACT 


 

 

 

SAT 

 

ACT 


 

 

 

SAT 

 

A

Did you know...


- SAP services include 6 outside community organizations volunteering time at Buena

- Buena offers free tutoring during BARK provided by the A-Team Peer Tutoring service

- Buena staff represent 13 states, 2 countries, and over 50 colleges/universities around the country

-  Buena H.S. has 25 faculty that are alumni

FOLLOW BUENA HIGH SCHOOL