COUNSELING

Our Mission

The mission of the counseling department at Buena High school is to deliver a comprehensive counseling program based on the American School Counselor Association’s (ASCA) National Model for school counseling.  This comprehensive program provides all students with equitable opportunity for growth in the academic, college and career, and social/emotional domains and encourages the highest level of student achievement using developmentally appropriate curriculum and services.  In partnership with students, families, teachers, administrators, and members of the community, we promote lifelong learning and guide students in becoming responsible, culturally sensitive and productive members of society.

Did you know...
-  We offer 16 AP and 11 Honors courses

-  We have an AVID program

-  We have #21 AVID trained teachers

-  We offer over 70 electives

-  We offer Mock Trial, Science League, ASB and Renaissance
   programs and many more

-  Buena Counselors conduct 3 college nights, a College Celebration day,
   and 2 NCAA presentations yearly

- SAP services include 6 outside community organizations volunteering time at
   Buena

- Buena offers free tutoring during BARK provided by the A-Team Peer Tutoring 

  service

-  Buena staff represent 13 states, 2 countries, and over 50 colleges/universities
   around 
the country

-  Buena H.S. has 25  faculty that are alumni

David Vallejo, M.A.

david.vallejo@venturausd.org                                    

Ext. 1015

Last names: “A-CEP”                                      

NCAA Advisor

AP Coordinator 
 

Natasha Hillis, M.A.

natasha.hillis@venturausd.org                                         

Ext. 1023

Last names: “LiO-OLH”                                 

College Night Coordinator
PLAN/PSAT Coordinator

 
Joyce Cooper, M.A.

joyce.cooper@venturausd.org 

Ext.1011

Student Assistance Program (SAP)

Support Groups

Health & Wellness Liaison

Bertha Zaragoza, M.A.

bertha.zaragoza@venturausd.org 

Ext. 1037

Last names: “CEQ-GOL”

EL Coordinator

VC Matriculation Liaison                             

Monica Fierro, M.A.

monica.fierro@venturausd.org 

Ext. 1019

Last names: “OLi-SAM”

Middle School Liaison

Natalie Debbas, M.A.

natalie.debbas@venturausd.org 

Ext. 2054

College & Career Center

C.E.C (ROP)

SAT/ACT/ASVAB Test Administrator

Work Experience

Bridges Program
 

Shannon Pelmear, M.A.

shannon.pelmear@venturausd.org 

Ext. 1009

Last names: “GOM-LiN”

Financial Aid

Career and College Night                            

John Beattie, M.A. 

john.beattie@venturausd.org             

Ext. 1050

Last names: “SAN-Z”

Middle School Liaison 

BARK coordinator

Geneva Vega                                               

geneva.vega@venturausd.org 

Ext. 1021

Office Assistant, Counseling Secretary